Research Synthesis Methods

Table of Contents

Volume 1 Issue 2 (April/June 2010)


Research Articles

A basic introduction to fixed‐effect and random‐effects models for meta‐analysis

  • Author: Michael Borenstein, Larry V. Hedges, Julian P.T. Higgins, Hannah R. Rothstein
  • Pub Online: Nov 21, 2010
  • DOI: 10.1002/jrsm.12 (p 97-111)

Outlier and influence diagnostics for meta‐analysis

  • Author: Wolfgang Viechtbauer, Mike W.‐L. Cheung
  • Pub Online: Oct 04, 2010
  • DOI: 10.1002/jrsm.11 (p 112-125)

Evidence synthesis, economics and public policy

  • Author: Ian Shemilt, Miranda Mugford, Luke Vale, Kevin Marsh, Cam Donaldson, Michael Drummond
  • Pub Online: Oct 28, 2010
  • DOI: 10.1002/jrsm.14 (p 126-135)

Multivariate fixed‐ and random‐effects models for summarizing ordinal data in meta‐analysis of diagnostic staging studies

  • Author: Shandra Bipat, Aeilko H. Zwinderman
  • Pub Online: Aug 25, 2010
  • DOI: 10.1002/jrsm.10 (p 136-148)

Critical interpretation of Cochran's Q test depends on power and prior assumptions about heterogeneity

  • Author: Tiago V. Pereira, Nikolaos A. Patsopoulos,, Georgia Salanti, John P. A. Ioannidis
  • Pub Online: Oct 28, 2010
  • DOI: 10.1002/jrsm.13 (p 149-161)

Book Reviews


Erratum: Robust variance estimation in meta‐regression with dependent effect size estimates

  • Author: Larry V. Hedges, Elizabeth Tipton, Matthew C. Johnson
  • Pub Online: Nov 17, 2010
  • DOI: 10.1002/jrsm.17 (p 164-165)

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.