Quality and Reliability Engineering International

A New Exponentially Weighted Moving Average Control Chart for Monitoring Process Dispersion

Journal Article

Exponentially weighted moving average (EWMA) control charts have been widely recognized as an advanced statistical process monitoring tool due to their excellent performance in detecting small to moderate shifts in process parameters. In this paper, we propose a new EWMA control chart for monitoring the process dispersion based on the best linear unbiased absolute estimator (BLUAE) obtained under paired ranked set sampling (PRSS) scheme, which we name EWMA‐PRSS chart. The performance of the EWMA‐PRSS chart is evaluated in terms of the average run length and standard deviation of run length, estimated using Monte Carlo simulations. These control charts are compared with their existing counterparts for detecting both increases and decreases in the process dispersion. It is observed that the proposed EWMA‐PRSS chart performs uniformly better than the EWMA dispersion charts based on simple random sampling and ranked set sampling (RSS) schemes. We also construct an EWMA chart based on imperfect PRSS (IPRSS) scheme, named EWMA‐IPRSS chart, for detecting overall changes in the process variability. It turns out that, with reasonable assumptions, the EWMA‐IPRSS chart outperforms the existing EWMA dispersion charts. A real data set is used to explain the construction and operation of the proposed EWMA‐PRSS chart. Copyright © 2014 John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.