Research Synthesis Methods

Bayesian meta‐analysis of coefficient alpha

Journal Article

The current paper describes and illustrates a Bayesian approach to the meta‐analysis of coefficient alpha. Alpha is the most commonly used estimate of the reliability or consistency (freedom from measurement error) for educational and psychological measures. The conventional approach to meta‐analysis uses inverse variance weights to combine information from independent studies to provide an overall estimate. The Bayesian approach provides similar estimates to the conventional approach if a diffuse prior is used. However, the Bayesian approach also provides ‘shrunken’ local estimates of reliability in each context. The amount of shrinkage depends upon both the variability in the underlying populations and the sampling variance of the local estimates. Advantages of the approach are the estimation of individual studies adjusted for sampling error and the application of meta‐analytic results to new local studies in which the local study ‘borrows strength’ from the meta‐analysis. The ability to borrow strength for the new local studies is particularly useful in applied work in which the estimate of the local parameter is of primary interest. The approach is illustrated by the analysis of studies of the reliability of the General Ethnicity Questionnaire – Abridged, a measure of identification with the culture of one's heritage and the culture of one's host country. Copyright © 2013 John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.