Journal of Evaluation in Clinical Practice

Evaluation of communication assessment practices during the acute stages post stroke

Journal Article


Rationale, aims and objectives  Early detection of communication impairment post stroke is an important prognostic indicator and promotes the use of individualized treatment protocols. Therefore, the methods for speech and language assessment used by communication experts in acute settings following stroke were investigated.

Methods  A survey was conducted among 254 speech and language pathologists providing acute care for patients following stroke in all states and territories across Australia and New Zealand. Respondent attitudes and practices in speech and language assessment post stroke were recorded with a standardized questionnaire collected online.

Results  A total of 174 (68.5%) speech and language pathologists responded. Over 70% of participants assessed language and 80% assessed speech using their own clinical assessments. Respondents identified limited test repeatability and poor sensitivity to change over acute periods as key areas of concern for currently available standardized assessments.

Conclusions  Subjective and/or un‐standardized assessments were the most commonly used measures of communication during the acute phases post stroke. These results highlight a critical need for the development of population‐specific communication assessments that build on existing clinician derived techniques and expertise while considering the acute time demands and transient nature of patient's communicative functioning.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.