The brazilian nut effect by void filling: an analytic model

Journal Article


We propose an analytic model of the Brazilian nut effect (BNE) that utilizes void filling as the primary mechanism behind the rise to the surface of one large buried intruder particle in an externally driven confined mixture with many small particles. When the intruder rises upward, it creates a void underneath it that is immediately filled by small particles preventing the intruder from sinking back to its previous position. Even though the external driving is only along the vertical direction, the small particles are able to move transversely into the void due to the Janssen effect, which postulates that the magnitudes of the vertically directed and transversely directed forces in a confined granular system are directly proportional to each other. The Janssen effect allows us to calculate the transverse speed distribution in which the small particles fill up the void and the temporal dynamics of the intruder particle in the vertically shaken container. We determine the time‐dependent behavior of the intruder vertical position h, its rise velocity dh/dt, and the phase (dh/dt vs. h) as a function of particle size ratio Φ, container diameter Dc, kinetic friction coefficient μ, and packing fraction c. Finally, we show that the predictions of our BNE model agree well with published experimental and simulation results. © 2010 Wiley Periodicals, Inc. Complexity 16: 9–16, 2011

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.