Statistics in Medicine

Multiple imputation based on restricted mean model for censored data

Journal Article


Most multiple imputation (MI) methods for censored survival data either ignore patient characteristics when imputing a likely event time, or place quite restrictive modeling assumptions on the survival distributions used for imputation. In this research, we propose a robust MI approach that directly imputes restricted lifetimes over the study period based on a model of the mean restricted life as a linear function of covariates. This method has the advantages of retaining patient characteristics when making imputation choices through the restricted mean parameters and does not make assumptions on the shapes of hazards or survival functions. Simulation results show that our method outperforms its closest competitor for modeling restricted mean lifetimes in terms of bias and efficiency in both independent censoring and dependent censoring scenarios. Survival estimates of restricted lifetime model parameters and marginal survival estimates regain much of the precision lost due to censoring. The proposed method is also much less subject to dependent censoring bias captured by covariates in the restricted mean model. This particular feature is observed in a full statistical analysis conducted in the context of the International Breast Cancer Study Group Ludwig Trial V using the proposed methodology. Copyright © 2011 John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.