Applied Stochastic Models in Business and Industry

Modern analysis of customer satisfaction surveys: comparison of models and integrated analysis

Journal Article

Customer satisfaction is a key dimension driving business outcomes and performance of processes in service and product organizations. Measuring customer satisfaction is typically based on self‐declared or interview‐based questionnaires where users or consumers are asked to express opinions on statements, or satisfaction scales, mapping out various interactions with the service provider or product supplier. The topic has gained importance in recent years with researchers proposing new models and methods for designing, implementing, and analyzing customer satisfaction surveys. This paper builds on material presented in a recent edited book entitled Modern Analysis of Customer Satisfaction Surveys (Kenett and Salini, 2011). The book provides a comprehensive exposition of a variety of models that have all been applied to the same data set by leading experts. These models generate a variety of management insights. Combining models opens up opportunities for further research and applications. Specifically, we suggest that an integrated analysis, aggregating several approaches to survey data analysis, may prove effective in increasing the information quality derived from of a customer satisfaction survey. Copyright © 2011 John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.