WIREs Computational Statistics

Individualized inference through fusion learning

Early View

Abstract Fusion learning methods, developed for the purpose of analyzing datasets from many different sources, have become a popular research topic in recent years. Individualized inference approaches through fusion learning extend fusion learning approaches to individualized inference problems over a heterogeneous population, where similar individuals are fused together to enhance the inference over the target individual. Both classical fusion learning and individualized inference approaches through fusion learning are established based on weighted aggregation of individual information, but the weight used in the latter is localized to the target individual. This article provides a review on two individualized inference methods through fusion learning, iFusion and iGroup, that are developed under different asymptotic settings. Both procedures guarantee optimal asymptotic theoretical performance and computational scalability. This article is categorized under: Statistical Learning and Exploratory Methods of the Data Sciences > Manifold Learning Statistical Learning and Exploratory Methods of the Data Sciences > Modeling Methods Statistical and Graphical Methods of Data Analysis > Nonparametric Methods Data: Types and Structure > Massive Data

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.