Quality and Reliability Engineering International

Reliability inference for VGA adapter from dual suppliers based on contaminated type‐I interval‐censored data

Journal Article

Abstract Type‐I interval‐censoring scheme only documents the number of failed units within two prespecified consecutive exam times at the larger time point after putting all units on test at the initial time schedule. It is challenging to use the collected information from type‐I interval‐censoring scheme to evaluate the reliability of unit when not all admitted units are operated or tested at the same initial time and a majority of units are randomly selected to replace the failed test units at unrecorded time points. Moreover, the lifetime distribution of all pooled units from dual resources usually follows a mixture distribution. To overcome these two problems, a two‐stage inference process that consists of a data‐cleaning step and a parameter estimation step via either Markov chain Monte Carlo (MCMC) algorithm or profile likelihood method is proposed based on the contaminated type‐I interval‐censored sample from a mixture distribution with unknown proportion. An extensive simulation study is conducted under the mixture smallest extreme value distributions to evaluate the performance of the proposed method for a case study. Finally, the proposed methods are applied to the mixture lifetime distribution modeling of video graphics array adapters for the support of reliability decision.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.