Quality and Reliability Engineering International

Detecting outbreaks in temporally dependent networks

Early View

Abstract Dynamic networks require effective methods of monitoring and surveillance in order to respond promptly to unusual disturbances. In many applications, it is of interest to identify anomalous behavior within a dynamic interacting system. Such anomalous interactions are reflected by structural changes in the network representation of the system. In this paper, a dynamic random graph model is proposed that takes into account the past activities of the individuals in the social network and also represents temporal dependency of the network. The model parameters are appearance and disappearance probabilities of an edge which are estimated using a maximum likelihood approach. A generalization of a single path‐dependent likelihood ratio test is employed to detect changes in the parameters of the proposed model. Through monitoring the estimated parameters, one can effectively detect structural changes in a temporal‐dependent network. The proposed model is employed to describe the behavior of a real network, and its parameters are monitored via dependent likelihood ratio test and multivariate exponentially weighted moving average control chart. Results indicate that the proposed dynamic random graph model is a reliable mean to modeling and detecting changes in temporally dependent networks.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.