Statistical Analysis and Data Mining

Marked point process models for the admissions of heart failure patients

Journal Article

The aim of this paper is to model the stochastic process of hospitalizations with marked point processes (MPPs). We examine the longitudinal data set including the admissions of heart failure patients to Lombardia hospitals on a follow‐up period of 6 years since January 1, 2006. We analyze four separate groups of patients, which we call heart failure groups, according to their diagnoses‐codes contained in the SDO (hospital discharge form) of their first hospitalizations. The statistical model links the temporal trend of hospitalization (the ground process) with the length of stay (the mark) at each event. Instead of framing our application in the more theoretical context of the counting measures and processes, we make use of the conditional intensity function, a parametric approach which leads us to deal with Hawkes processes. Hypotheses are made on the mark concerning its distribution as well as its independence or dependence with the ground process. Independence is better to model and give us significant results while dependence is harder to be dealt with due to computational and modeling issues. Finally, we provide a general framework for modeling longitudinal data with a MPP as a method for statistical inference and suggest a specific model for our topic, validating it through a goodness of fit technique.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.