Mathematical Finance

An efficient approach to quantile capital allocation and sensitivity analysis

Early View

Abstract In various fields of applications such as capital allocation, sensitivity analysis, and systemic risk evaluation, one often needs to compute or estimate the expectation of a random variable, given that another random variable is equal to its quantile at some prespecified probability level. A primary example of such an application is the Euler capital allocation formula for the quantile (often called the value‐at‐risk), which is of crucial importance in financial risk management. It is well known that classic nonparametric estimation for the above quantile allocation problem has a slower rate of convergence than the standard rate. In this paper, we propose an alternative approach to the quantile allocation problem via adjusting the probability level in connection with an expected shortfall. The asymptotic distribution of the proposed nonparametric estimator of the new capital allocation is derived for dependent data under the setup of a mixing sequence. In order to assess the performance of the proposed nonparametric estimator, AR‐GARCH models are proposed to fit each risk variable, and further, a bootstrap method based on residuals is employed to quantify the estimation uncertainty. A simulation study is conducted to examine the finite sample performance of the proposed inference. Finally, the proposed methodology of quantile capital allocation is illustrated for a financial data set.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.