Semiparametric regression analysis of interval‐censored data with informative dropout

Journal Article

Summary Interval‐censored data arise when the event time of interest can only be ascertained through periodic examinations. In medical studies, subjects may not complete the examination schedule for reasons related to the event of interest. In this article, we develop a semiparametric approach to adjust for such informative dropout in regression analysis of interval‐censored data. Specifically, we propose a broad class of joint models, under which the event time of interest follows a transformation model with a random effect and the dropout time follows a different transformation model but with the same random effect. We consider nonparametric maximum likelihood estimation and develop an EM algorithm that involves simple and stable calculations. We prove that the resulting estimators of the regression parameters are consistent, asymptotically normal, and asymptotically efficient with a covariance matrix that can be consistently estimated through profile likelihood. In addition, we show how to consistently estimate the survival function when dropout represents voluntary withdrawal and the cumulative incidence function when dropout is an unavoidable terminal event. Furthermore, we assess the performance of the proposed numerical and inferential procedures through extensive simulation studies. Finally, we provide an application to data on the incidence of diabetes from a major epidemiological cohort study.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.