Statistics in Medicine

Constrained empirical‐likelihood confidence regions in nonignorable covariate‐missing data problems

Journal Article

Missing covariates in regression analysis are a pervasive problem in medical, social, and economic researches. We study empirical‐likelihood confidence regions for unconstrained and constrained regression parameters in a nonignorable covariate‐missing data problem. For an assumed conditional mean regression model, we assume that some covariates are fully observed but other covariates are missing for some subjects. By exploitation of a probability model of missingness and a working conditional score model from a semiparametric perspective, we build a system of unbiased estimating equations, where the number of equations exceeds the number of unknown parameters. Based on the proposed estimating equations, we introduce unconstrained and constrained empirical‐likelihood ratio statistics to construct empirical‐likelihood confidence regions for the underlying regression parameters without and with constraints. We establish the asymptotic distributions of the proposed empirical‐likelihood ratio statistics. Simulation results show that the proposed empirical‐likelihood methods have a better finite‐sample performance than other competitors in terms of coverage probability and interval length. Finally, we apply the proposed empirical‐likelihood methods to the analysis of a data set from the US National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.