Research Synthesis Methods

A scoping approach to systematically review published reviews: Adaptations and recommendations

Journal Article

  • Author(s): Annette Schultz, Leah Goertzen, Janet Rothney, Pamela Wener, Jennifer Enns, Gayle Halas, Alan Katz
  • Article first published online: 22 Nov 2017
  • DOI: 10.1002/jrsm.1272
  • Read on Online Library
  • Subscribe to Journal

Knowledge translation is a central focus of the health research community, which includes strategies to synthesize published research to support uptake within health care practice and policy arenas. Within the literature concerning review methodologies, a new discussion has emerged concerning methods that review and synthesize published review articles. In this paper, our multidisciplinary team from family medicine, nursing, dental hygiene, kinesiology, occupational therapy, physiology, population health, clinical psychology, and library sciences contributes to this discussion by sharing our experiences in conducting 3 scoping reviews of published review studies. A brief discussion of Cochrane Collaboration overview reviews and Joanna Briggs Institute umbrella reviews foreshadows a discussion of insights from our experiences of conducting the 3 scoping reviews of published reviews. We address 6 adaptations along with our recommendations for each, which may guide other researchers with designing scoping review approaches to synthesize published reviews. The ability of researchers to publish research findings is growing, and our ability to effectively transfer findings into useful evidence for health care practice and policy is imperative to our work.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.