Risk Analysis

Models of Neurotoxicity: Extrapolation of Benchmark Doses in Vitro

Journal Article

  • Author(s): Matteo Goldoni, Maria Vittoria Vettori, Rossella Alinovi, Andrea Caglieri, Sandra Ceccatelli, Antonio Mutti
  • Article first published online: 29 May 2003
  • DOI: 10.1111/1539-6924.00331
  • Read on Online Library
  • Subscribe to Journal

In risk assessment, no observed exposure level (NOAEL) and benchmark dose (BMD) are usually derived either from epidemiological studies in humans or from animal experiments. In many in vitro studies, concentration‐effect/response curves have been analyzed using different mathematical models finalized to the identification of EC50. In the present article, we propose a model to fit dose‐response curves in vitro. The BMD approach has been used to compare the cell viability (MTT assay) of different rat (C6 and PC12, glial and neuronal, respectively) and human cell lines (D384 and SK‐N‐MC, glial and neuronal, respectively) after 24‐hour exposure to the following neurotoxic substances: manganese chloride (MnCl2), methyl‐mercury (Me‐Hg), and the enantiomers of styrene oxide (SO). For all rat and human cell lines, the potency of the examined compounds was: MnCl2 < S‐SO < R‐SO < Me‐Hg. A preliminary comparison with in vivo toxicity data for these substances gave rise to consistent results. Whereas a reasonable agreement between in vitro and in vivo data has been found for Mn and styrene oxide, a wide scatter of LOAEL has been reported for Me‐Hg and these appear to be either much higher or lower than the BMD for the MTT assay we observed invitro.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.