Quality and Reliability Engineering International

Simulation Models for Robust Design Using Location Depth Methods

Journal Article


For a cost‐effective production of integrated circuits, one important aspect is the accurate simulation of electronic circuits with regard to process variation. Process variation is described as the range of simulation (SPICE) parameters, but to reduce the costs of simulation they are replaced by easily available e‐test parameters. An approximate algorithm for the location depth (multivariate ranking) selects all data points with location depth less than or equal to one as boundary points for the multidimensional data set of e‐test parameters. The corresponding SPICE parameter values are simply obtained by linear mapping. To increase the robustness of the simulation the region covered by the set of boundary points is extended by determining the point with the deepest location (multivariate median) and adding to each boundary vector a fixed portion of the vector from the median to the boundary vector. This natural extension also covers moderate process shifts without changing the covariance structure of the data. These methods are integrated into an automated generation flow to be applicable in a production and circuit design environment. The statistical methods are validated by simulation experiments of typical analog/mixed‐signal circuit designs. Copyright © 2003 John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.