Quality and Reliability Engineering International

A Case‐based Decision Support System for Flooding Crises Onboard Ships

Journal Article


This paper presents the development of an integrated system, namely the COMAND‐DSS (Decision Support System created under project COMAND), for crisis management and real‐time decision support in shipboard flooding emergencies. It employs the case‐based reasoning approach to provide swift and effective decision‐making support for shipboard personnel during an emergency on ship. The developed system, which focuses on decision support for flooding control, is also thought to be useful as a crew training system. In order to deal with a flooding damage in the COMAND‐DSS, a multiple attribute decision‐making methodology—Technique for Order Preference by Similarity to Ideal Solution (TOPSIS)—is used to be able to choose the set of counter‐flooding tanks that should be filled in order to achieve an optimal response to a flooding accident. The COMAND‐DSS is composed of a knowledge base, a reasoning process and a graphical user interface for the shipboard personnel to interact with the system. The friendly windows‐based user interface of the COMAND‐DSS enables the user to take full advantage of the capabilities of the system in order to make quick decisions. Using this system, when a crisis occurs the optimal decisions and responses can be made in a short time, thereby reducing the risk to life, property and environment. Copyright © 2006 John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.