Quality and Reliability Engineering International

Chain Sampling Scheme under Constant Inspection Errors

Journal Article


The primary aim of this paper is to extend the inspection error consideration to chain sampling schemes, an area that has not been dealt with in the literature. A mathematical model is developed to investigate the performance of chain sampling schemes under constant inspection errors. Expressions of performance measures, such as operating characteristic function, average total inspection and average outgoing quality, are derived to aid the analysis of a general chain sampling scheme, ChSP‐4A (equation image) r, developed by Frishman. This study reveals that as Type I inspection error increases the probability of acceptance will decrease and as Type II inspection error increases the acceptance probability will increase. The effect of Type II error on the probability of acceptance is very marginal compared with that of Type I error, especially when the true fraction non‐conforming is small. In addition, the effects of inspection errors can be ‘eliminated’ by transforming to its equivalent perfect inspection counterpart, hence greatly reducing the complexity of the analysis. The effects of other sampling parameters are also studied to serve as a foundation for future plan designing purposes. Copyright © 2006 John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.