Journal of Time Series Analysis

A Plug‐in Bandwidth Selection Procedure for Long‐Run Covariance Estimation with Stationary Functional Time Series

Journal Article

In several arenas of application, it is becoming increasingly common to consider time series of curves or functions. Many inferential procedures employed in the analysis of such data involve the long‐run covariance function or operator, which is analogous to the long‐run covariance matrix familiar to finite‐dimensional time‐series analysis and econometrics. This function may be naturally estimated using a smoothed periodogram type estimator evaluated at frequency zero that relies on the choice of a bandwidth parameter. Motivated by a number of prior contributions in the finite‐dimensional setting, in particular Newey and West (), we propose a bandwidth selection method that aims to minimize the estimator's asymptotic mean‐squared normed error (AMSNE) in L2[0,1]2. As the AMSNE depends on unknown population quantities including the long‐run covariance function itself, estimates for these are plugged in in an initial step after which the estimated AMSNE can be minimized to produce an empirical optimal bandwidth. We show that the bandwidth produced in this way is asymptotically consistent with the AMSNE optimal bandwidth, with quantifiable rates, under mild stationarity and moment conditions. These results and the efficacy of the proposed methodology are evaluated by means of a comprehensive simulation study, from which we can offer practical advice on how to select the bandwidth parameter in this setting.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.