C Oswald George Prize winner 2012


  • Date: 19 Nov 2012

The Teaching Statistics Editorial Board is pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 C Oswald George Prize as Roger Porkess and Stephen Mason for their article, ‘Looking at Debit and Credit Card Fraud’.

thumbnail image: C Oswald George Prize winner 2012

Published in the Autumn 2012 issue of the journal, the article looks at some statistical issues raised by court cases involving chip and PIN card fraud, providing useful examples and insights that statistics teachers will find helpful. The article can be accessed online for free now.

The C Oswald George Prize is awarded annually by the Teaching Statistics Editorial Board to the best article published in the journal that year. This year’s award winning article was commended for a combination of key fundamental principles with a contemporary problem that we can all relate to.

About the Prize

Dr C Oswald George was an eminent UK government statistician. Dr George was one of the founders of the Institute of Statisticians (originally The Association of Incorporated Statisticians Ltd) in 1948, and served as Chairman or President for many years. He donated a sum of money for the establishment of a prize, which was initially awarded to ‘the best paper, especially submitted by younger authors, in the field of applied statistics’. This prize was later associated with the Institute of Statisticians’ professional examinations. When Teaching Statistics was founded in 1979, the Institute generously made the prize available to the best article published in the journal each year. When the Institute merged with the Royal Statistical Society in 1993, the prize continued. This prestigious award is now funded by the Royal Statistical Society on behalf of Teaching Statistics.

Previous recipients of the prize include:

2011: Jane Watson – ‘Cheating Partners, Conditional Probability and Contingency Tables

2010: Sue Kraus – ‘Monstrous Methods for Teaching Central Tendency Concepts

2009: Chris Du Feu – ‘Having a Whale of a Time

We are pleased to honour Dr George’s memory every year through the award of the prize.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.