2nd IMA Conference on the Mathematical Challenges of Big Data


  • 01 December - 02 December 2016
  • Mary Ward House, London
  • Organiser: Institute of Mathematics and its Applications
  • Contact: Lizzi Lake
  • E-mail: conferences@ima.org.uk
  • Phone: +44 (0) 1702 354 020
  • Event Details

Big data and data science are topics of the moment. Among the raft of conferences on these subjects few have a clear focus on the underpinning theoretical methodologies to maximise the information that can be extracted in the presence of inherent uncertainties, sampling bias, data streams, data linkage and all of the other specific features of so-called big data applications. This conference will showcase work by young and established researchers advancing the state-of-the-art on a rigorous mathematical basis. Alongside new methodology there will be application strands led by industry to showcase the power of mathematical approaches in practical applications. Each session will feature an invited talk by an expert speaker who will review an advanced area of current research.

Conference Fees

Early Bird Fees*:

IMA Member:


Non-IMA Member:


IMA Student Member:


Non IMA Student:


Early Bird Fees* will be available until Monday 7 November 2016, after which the fees will be:

IMA Member:


Non-IMA Member:


IMA Student Member:


Non IMA Student:


Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.