RSS 2017 Annual Conference


The RSS 2017 Conference will take place at the Technology and Innovation Centre at the University of Strathclyde in the centre of Glasgow from 4 to 7 September.

Because of the range of topics presented and discussed and the breadth of the audience, this conference is the only one in the UK where all statisticians and users of data gather together. So it’s the best forum to share information, network and learn from one another.

The three-day conference programme offers a mix of keynote talks and sessions organised into ‘streams’ or topics, plus an equally diverse schedule of social events.

The programme chair for the 2017 Conference will be Dr Kim Kavanagh from the Department of Mathematics & Statistics at Strathclyde. Kim says, 'I am delighted that the RSS Conference is returning to Scotland and to Glasgow. We’re aiming to make it the most successful conference yet and we would love to hear your ideas of what you would like to see in the programme.'

The RSS Conference board is currently seeking initial proposals for sessions and workshops for the conference on any topic related to statistics and the use of data. The Conference will once again be based around topic streams which for 2017 are provisionally, but not limited to:
•Applications of Statistics
•Communicating & Teaching Statistics
•Data Science
•Environmental/Spatial Statistics
•Industry & Commerce
•Medical Statistics
•Methods & Theory
•Official Statistics & Public Policy
•Social Statistics

Initial proposals should contain a provisional title for the session and ideally a brief description of what the session is intended to cover.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.