Flint International Statistics Conference: Flint: One City – 100 Years Under Variability


  • 24 June - 28 June 2014
  • Kettering University, Flint, Michigan, USA
  • Event Details

This international conference is being organized by Kettering University to celebrate the IYS 2013 and the 175th anniversary of the American Statistical Association (ASA).

The intention is to bring together statisticians with expertise in statistical modeling, education, and applications. The conference will focus on multi-disciplinary use of historical data for urban communities. Participants may use any data of their choice. Analysis and models based on historical records will be included or discussed in the plenary sessions, invited talks, presentations and tutorials. Data about the City of Flint, MI, consisting of up to 100 years of demographic, health, labor, census, and crime records will be summarized in advance of the conference and made available to the participants. The Flint history spans the early years of the automotive industry, the force behind Flint’s growth, as well as its decline, both of which have had an impact on the Flint community. Each Session of the conference will start with an extended presentation of the statistical achievements and perspectives in the discussed area, followed by several talks on current research and results.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.