Future of the Statistical Sciences Workshop


  • 11 November - 12 November 2013
  • Royal Statistical Society, 12 Errol Street, London, EC1Y 8LX
  • Organiser: Royal Statistical Society and the American Statistical Association
  • Event Details

The capstone event of the International Year of Statistics is a two-day, invited Workshop on the Future of the Statistical Sciences. This workshop will showcase the breadth and importance of statistics and highlight the extraordinary opportunities for statistical research in the coming decade.

More specifically the workshop will convey an important story to each primary audience:

To scientists in data-rich fields: statisticians are ready, willing and able to engage in deep, long-term collaborations;
To funding agencies: statistics is the data science and can (and does) provide tools to enable progress across a huge range of human endeavors;
To statisticians: don’t let the opportunities for high-impact research pass you by; and
To future statisticians: join us and engage in a discipline with a huge future.

The workshop will involve about 100 people, participating by invitation. Also, it will be available to all for viewing via the Internet.

In addition to statisticians, participants in the workshop will be representatives from other areas of science and practice that involve problems of a statistical nature. The workshop is organized around presentations and panels.

After the workshop, with input from each participant, the organizing committee will write a summary document that will be widely distributed to the greater scientific community.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.