RSS opens nominations for Statistical Excellence in Journalism awards


  • Author: Statistics Views (source: Royal Statistical Society)
  • Date: 10 January 2017
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of Getty Images

The Royal Statistical Society now welcomes entries for its 2017 ‘Statistical Excellence in Journalism’ awards, which recognises writers and broadcasters for their use of statistics and numbers in bringing the day’s stories to life.

Established back in 2007, the award has over the years honoured scores of journalists, including Chris Giles from the Financial Times, Daniel Finkelstein of The Times, the More or Less team at BBC’s Radio 4 and Alberto Nardelli of The Guardian, among others.

thumbnail image: RSS opens nominations for Statistical Excellence in Journalism awards

Anyone working in the media - either from the UK or elsewhere - is eligible to enter a suitable story making good use of statistics and data during the 2016 calendar year. Entries can be self-nominated, with a maximum of three entries per journalist, and will be judged against set criteria by a RSS panel. Winners will be invited to collect their award at an awards ceremony which will take place in the summer of 2017.

To find out more information and enter the awards, go to the RSS journalism awards webpage

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.